CurvedSpace Forums: Fixing up computer - CurvedSpace Forums

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox

JGJTan Icon : (05 July 2018 - 10:07 AM) So this has been a while! It's @jgjtan and @leftyy here having a nostalgia trip. We hope you all have been having a great time so far! Miss you, be back in another 5-10 years. (Or find me on social media -- it's not that hard.)
MoldyRaven Icon : (07 November 2017 - 10:03 AM) Back again after 14 years! Good to see this still up.
X Zolon Icon : (22 October 2017 - 04:54 PM) Polo.
MA-53 Icon : (13 October 2017 - 09:42 PM) Marco
ticktockclok Icon : (08 October 2017 - 11:26 PM) Just thought of this place, and figured I would try to log in. I last posted 10 years ago. Hello to anyone out there - especially those from way back!
Res Icon : (06 October 2017 - 03:11 AM) As well as things can be, good to hear from you all :D!!! Much love all around.
X Zolon Icon : (05 October 2017 - 05:02 AM) Strange. I was thinking about it around the same time. Just didn't come back until now. Hope everyone is well.
Glammeress Icon : (16 July 2017 - 12:48 AM) Just thinking about this place, like out of nowhere. Hope everyone is well.
Rylkan Icon : (09 July 2017 - 04:07 PM) Not bad. Just finishing up grad school. Which means I am looking for distractions from writing. :p
Phieta Icon : (09 July 2017 - 05:06 AM) Still flying, so to speak. How goes with you?
Rylkan Icon : (09 July 2017 - 02:42 AM) I am even more amazed someone replied to this in less than a few month timescale. Hi! How goes?
Phieta Icon : (08 July 2017 - 09:43 PM) He does log into GW every month or so to retain leadership, so that's something
Phieta Icon : (08 July 2017 - 09:42 PM) There are several of us! Several!
Rylkan Icon : (08 July 2017 - 06:33 PM) I was actually hoping to get in touch with Cspace since its been forever. But it looks like our old leader is lost to the void.
Rylkan Icon : (08 July 2017 - 06:29 PM) In a moment of pure nostalgia, I remembered this site. Seeing any shouts from this year is insane.
asyluman Icon : (17 January 2017 - 02:45 AM) i only JUST started playing FFVIII
asyluman Icon : (17 January 2017 - 02:45 AM) woah are people still here
Phieta Icon : (13 January 2017 - 09:05 AM) Apparently I joined SeeD 14 years ago today.
Dragonman Icon : (10 September 2016 - 02:29 AM) Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive, but to be young was very heaven
x.. Icon : (13 July 2016 - 01:14 AM) idk. both of those are complicated questions.
Resize Shouts Area

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Fixing up computer

#1 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 11 March 2010 - 09:19 PM

I have this computer that I'd like to upgrade and now have the money to do so. I would use it for desktop publishing, gaming, and basically whatever strikes me at the time. I want it to be as fast and good as possible; I would rather not go out and buy a whole new computer though. The hard drive on it is 200GB.

Here's it's stats:

http://www.intel.com...b/CS-008963.htm

Any thoughts on video cards, RAM, etc?

Here's a google search I was looking over for video cards:

http://www.google.co...b&hl=en&show=dd

Think I could/should go higher?

Any other suggestions?

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   x.. Icon

  • I Can't Decide On An Avatar
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 6,142
  • Joined: 05-May 06

Posted 12 March 2010 - 07:10 PM

Socket 775 amirite? You can fit Core 2 Quads in that.

Any chance you could upgrade the mobo? It's pretty limited.
0

#3 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 12 March 2010 - 10:51 PM

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Socket 775 amirite? You can fit Core 2 Quads in that.


O.o; Unfortunately that was mostly lost on me.

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Any chance you could upgrade the mobo? It's pretty limited.


I could but what to? :O

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   Jake Icon

  • Senior Member
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 4,637
  • Joined: 24-October 04

Posted 13 March 2010 - 09:49 AM

View PostKimojuno, on 12 March 2010 - 04:51 PM, said:

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Socket 775 amirite? You can fit Core 2 Quads in that.


O.o; Unfortunately that was mostly lost on me.

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Any chance you could upgrade the mobo? It's pretty limited.


I could but what to? :O


Xmadole, it's not a 775. "Intel® Pentium® 4 processor, Intel® Celeron® D processor and Intel® Celeron® processor in the 478-pin package "



Anyways, kimo. What's your budget like? If it's more than a couple hundred you should just save up a little more and buy a completely new machine. You're at the point where what you have is more or less un-upgradeable since any used parts that would 'fit' into your system are somewhat hard to get ahold of, and what you can find are usually far too expensive if you consider what kind of performance you're getting for the money. ie: 1GB of DDR1 that runs at 400MHz costs $30, but a high-end 2GB DDR3 stick that runs at 1600Mhz costs $50. No, I didn't just make those numbers up.

Also, hit Win+R and type in DXDiag. It'll probably ask you something about drivers, just hit yes. Then I need you to take a screenshot of the "System" and "Display" tabs on it.
Posted Image


Edit: To put things in perspective, you can probably throw together a machine a little better than mine for around $700 or so. I can play most games on fairly high settings at just under 1080P. I just need a better video card.

Also, speaking of video cards. I don't know what you have, but I've got one of the better video cards that will fit on your motherboard sitting around here somewhere, and I need to get rid of the damned thing. I'm pretty sure it's a Nvidia Geforce 7800.
To prove my point about expensive old parts, it apparently goes for around $200 in most places. It's one of, if not the fastest Video Cards around that still fits the old socket standard that your motherboard uses, but you're still stuck paying $200 for some old part that is still under the minimum requirements for alot of new games. A new $200 card can run basically everything on high at 1080p.

Edit2: If you're lucky, I -might- have some other spare parts lying around somewhere that would fit your system lying around back at my mom's house. I'll check the next time I'm over there if you want.

Edit3: I'm going to stop editing after this one. I need to learn to sit down and just write one coherent post without 20 add-ons.

Anyways, Kimo, any money that you put into this thing will basically be wasted. Sorry. Good news is $300 will likely get you something 3x as fast.
0

#5 User is offline   x.. Icon

  • I Can't Decide On An Avatar
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 6,142
  • Joined: 05-May 06

Posted 13 March 2010 - 12:42 PM

View PostJake, on 13 March 2010 - 09:49 AM, said:

View PostKimojuno, on 12 March 2010 - 04:51 PM, said:

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Socket 775 amirite? You can fit Core 2 Quads in that.


O.o; Unfortunately that was mostly lost on me.

View PostXmadole, on 12 March 2010 - 02:10 PM, said:

Any chance you could upgrade the mobo? It's pretty limited.


I could but what to? :O


Xmadole, it's not a 775. "Intel® Pentium® 4 processor, Intel® Celeron® D processor and Intel® Celeron® processor in the 478-pin package "


Oh, I didn't see the 478 part.

Yeah, I'm with Jake. It will be damn hard to upgrade your machine especially AGP cards (The video card socket thing that your board uses) is really hard to find unless you're prepared to pay tons for it. Just get a new PC, it's not hard to get something that can play most games at mid-high settings for £300-400 (Not sure what that is in dollars. :P ) now. I'd recommend getting something with an Athlon II processor - they're probably the best processors to get at a budget at the moment. (I just bought a duel core @ 3.2GHz for just over £35)
0

#6 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 14 March 2010 - 11:31 PM

The computer was never hooked up, because when I bought it I took the guy up on "learning something" instead of having him just do it for me. He showed me what to do, at the computer convention to do, to hook it up when I got home. I gave up after trying it later. I have looked it over since then, more then once, and even got advice previously from people. I know it needs a graphics card, since (without me realizing it when it was bought) it wasn't in there. Unfortunately pride got in the way and I didn't go back, so now I'm basically stuck with a old computer. :P

Eh it's good though as I learned a lesson, hence why I am admitting this now although I ponder the trolling that may occur. ;P

Anyway I have no problem getting a new computer if that is the best option, but I would very much like to keep my HD as I would not like the idea of going out and buying a whole new HD if it can be avoided. I also have the case so obviously putting a new mobo in myself is a possibility (I know how to do stuff I didn't know back then, but I'm still not as knowledgeable about hardware as, say, Jake and Xmadole). I'm going to guess you need information about the hard drive so I'll edit this post later (or make a new post w.e) with the information.

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   Jake Icon

  • Senior Member
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 4,637
  • Joined: 24-October 04

Posted 14 March 2010 - 11:59 PM

It probably won't matter since most motherboards still have IDE (old standard) right next to the SATA (new)slots.

Which drive is yours?
Posted Image
Posted Image

Top's IDE, bottom's SATA.


Let us know if you need help finding a new PC.
0

#8 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 01:35 AM

It's SATA. I would love help finding a new PC.

Also the case I have has a top and side fan that can be connected to the mobo along with the usual fan that vents through the back.

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   Jake Icon

  • Senior Member
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 4,637
  • Joined: 24-October 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 02:55 AM

View PostKimojuno, on 14 March 2010 - 08:35 PM, said:

It's SATA. I would love help finding a new PC.

Also the case I have has a top and side fan that can be connected to the mobo along with the usual fan that vents through the back.

Retail? Or are you going to build one?
And your case is (probably) just fine.
0

#10 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 02:57 PM

Elaborate on what you mean by retail. I mean are you asking if I will buy the PC retail? If so here's my thoughts: I'd like to buy the mobo and put it in the case myself using the same HD. By the way I have a 50gb IDE drive that's not being used, any chance of being able to use that along with the 200gb SATA drive on the same mobo?

(more information provided on request)

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#11 User is offline   Jake Icon

  • Senior Member
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 4,637
  • Joined: 24-October 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 05:40 PM

Of course you can use them together. All you need is a motherboard with an IDE slot somewhere on it.

Of course you can use them together. All you need is a motherboard with an IDE slot somewhere on it. And yes, by retail I basically mean Fry's or Best Buy.
0

#12 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 05:45 PM

Okay, any suggestions on motherboards?

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   Jake Icon

  • Senior Member
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 4,637
  • Joined: 24-October 04

Posted 15 March 2010 - 06:00 PM

How much cash do you have?
0

#14 User is offline   Kimojuno Icon

  • W00T! :D
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 4,536
  • Joined: 09-May 04

Posted 25 May 2011 - 10:20 PM

Random bump.

I never did reply to this, but at this point it doesn't matter since I bought a laptop....of course I will probably use those harddrives eventually..or sell them..who knows. =[p

;)

Jeff.

View PostXmadole, on 09 August 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

i wish i actually read the first post of threads.


Posted Image
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users